🙋🏻Me, Myself and I🌸

🇫🇷🇭🇰🇮🇪Where I’m From and The Advantages and Disadvantages That Come Along🇫🇷🇭🇰🇮🇪

Hello everyone!!

Christmas holidays are sadly over and I’m trying to get back into school mode🤓 Although my days feel very long and I am being given SO much homework📚😣

Anyways, I thought I’d tal kabout where I’m from, a bit about my culture and background. What are the positives and negatives?!🤗

My Dad is Chinese, he is from Hong Kong
My Mom is French, she is from Bretagne

They both moved to Ireland due to better opportunities, and that’s where I come in! 

My nationality is French as I have a French mom & family, as well as a French passport.


 but I am also half Chinese because of my dad and his family 


And, currently, I live in Ireland!🇮🇪

Pros:

  • Travel

It’s much easier for me to fly to France and Hong Kong for holidays as I have family there, we know the place and speak the language. I also have the freedom to fly over and travel alone

  • Languages

We are a multi-linguistic family

I.e we speak English, French, Irish & Chinese (yes we speak different languages at home🙈)

  • Friends

Friends and penpals are kept and are constantly being made. It’s nice to have friends from different countries🙆🏻

  • Culture

French, Irish and Chinese culture are all so different, and it’s great to have the experience of the three different extremes🌏 for example, different food, clothes, buildingd

(Hong Kong)



(France)

(France)

(Ireland)

(Hong Kong)

  • Opportunities 

It’s easier and more accessible to live or study abroad than it would be for most people🇭🇰🇮🇪🇫🇷 

  • Blogging

It is GREAT blogging content, to blog about the different countires you’re from!
Now for some of the cons! Many people don’t realise the negatives that come along with living a life like mine!

  • Makes leaving home easier

You spend a lot of time saying goodbye, living without your family, it isn’t a massive shick when you leave home for study or work, you kind of know how it works already



Cons

  • Loneliness & exclusion

Only my parents and brother live in Ireland, while everyone else lives in France and Hong Kong. Sometimes you get lonely when you can’t be with family often or your friends and you tend to be excluded from what they do back at home. For example, although one my cousins (french) and I have a great relationship, I can’t come to her wedding, which upsets me a lot a lot💍

  • Confusion 

Sometimes I question myself about where home is. Can I have three homes? Do I even have a place to call home? I’m constantly wondering where home is. My heart feels like France is, but technically Ireland is where I currently live.. therefore Ireland is my home, though I don’t feel Irish.. which brings me to my next point

  • Feeling like an outcast

I’m not Irish and I don’t feel like one for sure. I don’t really understand Irelands slang, I don’t act like a ‘typical Irish teen’, I don’t have any other family here. I only found out there was a post office in town a few months ago😒and that is basic knowledge. Sometimes I feel like I don’t belong here. Which I know, sounds depressing, but it’s true. I’m always being viewed as ‘the french one’, ‘the mixed one’ or even worse, ‘an emigrant’

  • Homesickness

This is the worst. I can’t count the amount of times I wished I didn’t live in Ireland and how I wanted to move back to France. It’s super difficult to have your family and friends far away. It’s hard to say goodbye, it’s hard to have to leave your home behind or watch them leave you. I try different ways of coping.. but if you have any ideas on how you cope, please tell me! It would mean a lot! 

  • Pronounciation & forgetting words

I tend to forget English grammar or words from time to time and spend a lot of time googling everything😣 sometimes I get a mental block and can only think in French, as if English was a language I couldn’t speak🙃 Some words in English I can’t pronounce at all..which outs me off ordering as people always comment on it. The last time it happend?- today😒


Those are some of the advantages and disadvantages!

Tell me if you can relate!✨

Thanks for reading🤓

Béline👯💋

8 thoughts on “🇫🇷🇭🇰🇮🇪Where I’m From and The Advantages and Disadvantages That Come Along🇫🇷🇭🇰🇮🇪

  1. Ireland can be a bit like that – hell, my parents are from Cork but moved up to Limerick for work before I was born so that was 24 years ago but in a way they’re still considered as ‘blow-ins’ because they’re not native to Limerick!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

