✈️France🇫🇷

📝The Basics of having a quick conversation🇫🇷

Hello! 

Today I wanted to give a lesson on the basics of having a conversation in French😀

If you haven’t read my previous post in this category, on informal and formal greetings, I would advise you to go back and take a quick look as it would be easier and more of a help when it comes to understanding these sentences and when to use them! 

Okay to start off a basic conversation with anyone (excluding formal situations), we pick a greeting word, then we ask how they are. I’ll give three examples, as they can be said in different ways! 

1: Bonjour! Comment ça va? Hello! How are you? (Pronounced) Bonjoor! Common-sa-va?

2: Salut! Comment vas-tu? Hi! How are you? (Pronounced) Saloo! Common va-too?

3: Coucou! tu vas bien? Hi! Are you well ? (Pronounced) Coocoo! Too va bee-ien? 

Just to let you know, you are allowed to mix the words up, as in, you don’t have to say ‘comment ça va’ only when you say ‘bonjour’. You can say it with any greeting word, those are just the examples I decided to give!

They all mean the same thing, the ‘how are you’s’ comes from the verb ‘aller’ meaning, ‘to go’.

Je vais (I go)

Tu vas <—- comment vas-tu? (You go)

Il/Elle va <—– Comment ça-va? (He/she goes)
Now for the responses! 

When someone aks how you are, here are the basic responses! 
For comment ça va?  You reply with, 

1: ça va bien. I am good. (Pronounced) sa va bee-ien.

2: ça va. I’m okay. (Pronounced) sa va.

3: ça va pas mal. I’m not bad. (Pronounced) sa va pa mal.

4: très bien. Very good. (Pronounced) tray bee-ien.
For comment tu-vas? And comment vas-tu? You have to respond with

Je vais.. 

You might realise that the three sentences all contain ‘va/vas’, but these two sentences have the word ‘tu’ and if you remember from above, it’s 

Je vais (I go)

Tu vas <—- comment vas-tu? (You go)
If someone asks you a question using ‘tu’, it means they are asking you. So it’s only normal to respond  with ‘I’, which is ‘je’. Now that it has gome from you to me, you must change the verb, from va/vas to vais.

Je vais… 

(I really hope it wasn’t too difficult to understand! My apologies if it does!)

Example responses..

1: Je vais bien. I am doing well/I’m good (pronounced) Je vay bee-ien.

2: Je ne vais pas bien. I’m not doing well/not good (pronounced) je vay bee-ien. 
After someone  asks you how you are or you ask them, you thank them or they thank you and ask the same question back. But to make it quicker you just say

‘Merci, et toi?’, ‘thank you, and you?’ , mersee, ay too-ah? 
After that, someome or you, might ask if they have any news. This can be asked in several ways! 

1: Quoi de neuf? Anything new? (Pronounced) qoo-ah duh nuf?

2: Tu-as des nouvelles? You have news? Too ah di noovelle

3: Est-ce que tu as des nouvelles? Do you have news? Es kuh too ah di noovelle?

They or you then reply with a yes or no,

Yes- ouiwee

No- nonnon

Then to finish it off you say your goodbyes.

Salut, au revoir Or a tout à l’heure!
I understand that this is a super short conversation and it’s unlikely you’ll have a conversation so short, but it’s still to help you get started! 

I hope this helps🌸🙈

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

